Elsie Howard

Independent Public Relations and Communications Professional

Elsie Sterling Howard is currently chairperson of the Miami Beach Visitor and Convention Authority in her second term of service and also chairs the Mayor’s Blue Ribbon Tourism Taskforce.  She also serves on the governing board of the Greater Miami Visitor and Convention Bureau.  In 1993 she was appointed by the Secretary of the Treasury as a founding member of the Citizens Commemorative Coin Advisory Committee at the United States Mint, and in 2000 she became the Coin Advisory Committee chairman, with national oversight of all commemorative coins.  This committee was responsible for initiating the quarter circulating coin program, had oversight of the dollar coin and initiated coin re-design.  She served for over a decade on the board of Bankers Trust and Deutsche Bank, Florida.  She retired in 2001 as the founder and president of Sterling Public Relations, where she represented Tourneau, among her other clients.

Her diverse volunteer leadership commitments include pride of service as a member of the Board of Governors for University of Miami’s Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer Center.  In 1990 Elsie helped found and then subsequently co-chaired the In the Garden gala for 15 years.  She currently chairs both the Board Services committee and the Being Well/Well Being symposium.  With a lifelong commitment to her alma mater, Elsie has served as a class officer, founded the local alumni club, chaired the local admissions program and served as chairman of the Trustees Council of Penn Women.  She was elected to service and served for ten years as a Trustee of the University of Pennsylvania- with five years of service on the executive committee with president Judith Rodin.  She served five years as president of Penn’s International Alumni Society, five years as the founding board chairman of the Penn Fund, Penn’s international alumni giving program.  She also served Penn as an Overseer of the School of Veterinary Medicine, the School of Design, on the Board of the Institute of Contemporary Art and as the Chair of the Penn Press.  She is currently the chairperson of the Alumni Council on Admissions.